Thursday, September 29, 2011

WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Okie Dokie Everyone.  Here's the latest round of winners......
Jennifer Ashley Contest.......Lisa Richards/alterlisa

Karin Tabke Contest........REN

Erin Kellison Contest......Winnie

Series Sunday (Kresley Cole Signed Book)....Nora H.....&......Melissa

Kinsey Holley Contest.........Heather

Monica Burns Contest..........MamaBear41499 (Laurie Foley)

Audiobook of Second Grave on the Left.......Jodie - Riverina Romantics

Alexandra Ivy Contest ..........Mandy Saial

Laura Burks Contest.........Karey Smith

RG Alexander (2  books)...........Lady Caella

RG Alexander ($10 GC)........Leanne 109

Stephanie Chong Contest...........Barbara E

CONGRATS to all my winners!!!  I have already sent you all emails.  If your name is here but you did not receive an email, please contact me at bookmonsterreviews@aol.com.  Thank you all for following Book Monster and participating in all the events.  I love you guys!!!

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Q&A Interview and Giveaway with Kerrelyn Sparks

Book Monster Reviews is very proud to welcome USA Today Bestselling author Kerrelyn Sparks to our site today!



Kerrelyn Sparks’ first paranormal romance, "How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire", zoomed out of the bat cave so fast it became Borders bestselling debut romance of 2005.   Each book in the LOVE AT STAKE series has become a USA Today bestseller.  When the fourth book, "The Undead Next Door", landed on the New York Times bestseller list, even the Undead sat up and took notice, which made Kerrelyn a bit nervous.



Kerrelyn lives in the Greater Houston area with her husband, children, and a house full of garlic.  So far, there are no vampires in her family. Werewolves are another matter entirely.

Kerrelyn is the creator of the LOVE AT STAKE series, which currently has 10 books, (“How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire”, “Vamps and the City”, Be Still my Vampire Heart”, “The Undead Next Door”, “All I Want for Christmas is a Vampire”, “Secret Life of a Vampire”, “Forbidden Nights with a Vampire”, “The Vampire and the Virgin”, “Eat Prey Love”, and “Vampire Mine”.The newest additions to the series, “Vampire Mine”, was just released on April 1st, and “Sexiest Vampire Alive”, was just released yesterday, September 27th. 

Just in case you all have not read the LOVE AT STAKE series, I'll give you a brief synopsis of the 2 newest releases so you can see what you're missing…
Vampire Mine” Synopsis:
Nothing on earth can make this vampire fall in love . . .
After 499 years of existence, Connor Buchanan has arrived at an inescapable conclusion: he is a cold-hearted SOB. He's been watching his friends—those poor romantic fools—plummet off the cliff into love like a dazed herd of sheep. But not Connor. He knows that love leads to nothing but heartache.
Until Marielle . . .
She is an angel cast down from heaven for disobedience. Trapped in mortal form, she finds a protector in Connor, a Scottish vampire haunted by a dark past. Marielle hopes to heal his broken heart and earn her way back home, but suddenly she has these . . . feelings. This strange yet pleasant physical yearning—for a vampire! Is this the work of a demon luring her into hell, or has this angel found heavenly bliss?


 Sexiest Vampire Alive” Synopsis:
He was both a playboy and a vampire…and impossible to resist.


At the end of Vampire Mine, a terrible thing happened—a video was released that proved the existence of vampires. Now Vamps fear the worst, the Vampire Apocalypse! Will mortals start hunting vampires down and staking them in their death-sleep? At an emergency meeting, Coven Masters from around the world decide how to proceed. They need an emissary to open negotiations with the President of the United States. They want their emissary to be modern, safe, and harmless. A Vamp who has never bitten a mortal. A Vamp who has been entirely bottle-fed. Their choice—Gregori!

Now Gregori has the fate of the entire Vamp population on his shoulders. Can he keep them safe? Or will he succumb to his playboy ways and doom them all?

Sounds great, right?  This series will keep you turning the pages while laughing your butt off so you will definitely want to add it to your TBR list.  Now, let's get to know more about the amazing author behind the LOVE AT STAKES series…..

Carla - Book Monster Reviews:  Hi Kerrelyn!  Congratulations on yesterday's release of "Sexiest Vampire Alive"!! Thank you so much for stopping by today and chatting with us, were very excited to have you here! 
Kerrelyn: I’m delighted to be here! Thank you!

Q1)  Who or what inspired you to become an author?  How long have you been writing?
Kerrelyn: I have always loved to read, and as a child I thought being an author would be the coolest job ever. Unfortunately, I didn’t attempt to write until I was in my 40s. I could say that I was busy teaching school and raising children (and I was), but the truth is I procrastinated because I didn’t believe I could actually pull it off.  After two years of writing, I sold my first book, a historical romance (and slapped myself for not believing in myself!) That first book, For Love or Country, was published in 2002. I started writing paranormal romance in 2004, and the first book in the Love at Stake series, How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire, was published in 2005. Now, six years later, book 11 has released—Sexiest Vampire Alive.
Authors who inspired me: Mary Stewart, Anya Seton, Kathleen Woodiwiss, Jayne Ann Krentz (Amanda Quick), Jude Deveraux, and Julie Garwood.

Q2)  What is a typical day like in the life of Kerrelyn Sparks?
Kerrelyn: Well, there are several kinds of typical days. On a day like today, I’m relaxed and doing things like this interview and planning the next book. On a typical day when the book is due in three months, I’m struggling with the first hundred pages and thinking I’ll never get this book figured out, much less written, and I wish the darned characters would cooperate! Then, on a typical day with the deadline a month away, I don’t know what day it is. I don’t know what time it is. I’m writing like crazy, and the characters are so alive that they’ve taken over my head and I’m just going along for the ride—and what a ride!  It’s a mad rollercoaster dash to the finish, and when it’s all over, I can’t believe I survived it. But what a heady celebration and a wild rush!

Q3)  What's up next for the LOVE AT STAKE series?  How many books are planned for the series?
Kerrelyn: Next up is Phineas’ book. Titled Wanted: Undead or Alive, it goes on sale March 27th, 2012. After that, there could be four more, bringing the series up to sixteen books.


Q4)  Who was your most difficult character to write about?
Kerrelyn: My first instinct is to say Marielle, the fallen angel. It was such a challenge to make her totally naïve but wise at the same time. I wanted to have fun with her character, but at the same time, I never wanted to be disrespectful to angels or God.  I was constantly walking a tightrope with her. But I absolutely loved her character and loved writing her.
My second instinct is to say Darafer, the demon. In a way, he was surprisingly easy to write—I guess it’s easy for us to imagine our worst nightmares—but at the same time, he was difficult to write because he is my worst nightmare, and it really creeps me out that I have to invite him into my head to get to know him.

Q5)  Is there a specific message in your books that you hope your readers will grasp?
Kerrelyn: Love. The power of love. The beauty of loving others, and the strength you can gain through loving others and loving yourself. You can defeat evil, overcome conflicts, survive pain and hardship, and find peace and joy.


Q6)  If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?
Kerrelyn: I would love to be able to teleport!  Imagine going anywhere you wanted in just a few seconds! Even better, I would really like the ability to arrive somewhere else with a few less pounds.

Q7)  What question have you always wanted to be asked in an interview but never have been?  And could you please answer that for us?
Kerrelyn: What is your quest? To bring people joy. What is your favorite color? Green. What is the air-speed velocity of a coconut-laden sparrow? I don’t know--African or European sparrow?

Q8)  If you could leave readers with one legacy, what would you want it to be?
Kerrelyn: Believe in yourself. I waited way too long before I pursued my dream because I didn’t believe. Be brave, be bold, be batty!





Book Monster Reviews:  Thank you again Kerrelyn for taking time out of your busy schedule to talk with us.  We hope to have you back on Book Monster Reviews again in the future.
Kerrelyn: Sure thing. Thank you for inviting me. It’s been fun!

If you would like to learn more about Kerrelyn and her books, please visit her at the following sites:
Kerrelyn's Website:  http://www.kerrelynsparks.com/
 *******************************************************
CONTEST:  Kerrelyn is graciously giving away a signed copy of Vampire Mine.

To Enter: Make sure you are a follower of the BMR Blog and then post a comment on the interview and make sure you leave a valid email address. Any comments without an email address will NOT be entered into drawing. You must also be a follower of the BMR blog. GOOD LUCK!!!!

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

400 Followers Contest - WOO HOO!!

OK everyone!!  Book Monster has finally gotten to 400 followers in under 4 months!  Total Awesomeness!
Thank you to everyone who is a part of Book Monster.

To show my ever loving gratitude I am giving away an Advanced Reading Copy (ARC) of THIRD GRAVE DEAD AHEAD by the incredibly fantabulous Darynda Jones!!

To Enter - You MUST be a follower of the Book Monster Blog (this means you must click the "JOIN THIS SITE" button on the top left hand corner of blog page) and you must leave a comment on this post with an email address. 


*If you are not a follower of the blog and you do leave an email adresss you will not be entered into contest.

GOOD LUCK!!

Q&A Interview and Giveaway with JoAnne Kenrick

Hello everyone!  LITERAL ADDICTION and Book Monster Reviews are pleased to welcome JoAnne Kenrick to our sites today.  
 
JoAnne is an Ex Ghost Tour Guide turned Paranormal Romance author. 
She grew up in a small sea-side town on the coast of North Wales and lived in a house that backed into a graveyard.  This could, perhaps, be one of the reasons why she’s fascinated with all things dark and macabre!?
Her interest in the paranormal became a job when she took a position as a Ghost Tour Guide with Ralph Keeton, Britain’s most renowned exorcist.  Her move to Australia prevented further field work, but she continued to help as a forum administrator, answering all sorts of paranormal inquiries.  With a bit of free time once again, she began writing on a professional level.  Her non-fiction paranormal features were even published in various glossy spiritual magazines. 
JoAnne currently resides in North Carolina with her husband, two kids and a kitty cat.  When she’s not busy with something for one of them, she writes both contemporary and paranormal romance.  
JoAnne’s most recent release, “When a Mullo Loves a Woman”, PEARL KIZZY book #1, was dropped on 5/24/11 and has gotten amazing reviews.  It has been said to be “a deceptively complex story about the power of true love”, said to feature “a scandalously wonderful leading man who will stop at nothing to save his soul mate”, and summed up to be a “winning and surprising paranormal romance”.  Sounds fabulous right!?  Let’s let you read the synopsis:
“When a Mullo Loves a Woman”:
She thought the mullo was just a myth...she was dead wrong.   Adam Flint's Gypsy visions always guide him to those who need his paranormal gifts. He gets more than he bargained for in Pearl Kizzy, a beautiful spitfire from Liverpool. Adam knows that to save Pearl, he must help her accept her own Gypsy heritage.  Although Adam and Pearl fight their burning attraction for one another, a night of passion sparks memories of their treacherous former lives. Unable to face the loss of Pearl in this century, Adam scrambles for distance from the love of his life. A rejected Pearl falls into the arms of a Mullo - a gypsy vampire - who lays claim to her heart, and her life.  To survive, Adam and Pearl must accept their tragic past, and find a way to kill the undead.

Yep, we know, it sounds even better now, but wait -- get off of Amazon/Barnes & Noble and finish reading what we have to tell you— we haven’t told you about JoAnne’s contemporary romances yet!
She has an upcoming release, “Sweet Irish Kiss”, a 1 NIGHTSTAND novel, due out in 2 days!  Instead of giving you the synopsis, we thought we’d give you a couple actual snippets, straight from Six Sentence Sundays on JoAnne’s website:
“Sweet Irish Kiss” Snippet:
She stood, pin cushion in hand, staring out the huge plate glass window.  The rain drizzled over passing shoppers who huddled and shared umbrellas with loved ones.  She wished she could have someone she could trust, to protect her when life pissed all over her, but she didn’t have anyone like that.  The big brick wall she’d built had seen to that.  A flashback of running through a downpour with her father hit, and hit her hard.  He’d thrown his coat over her, sheltering her and leaving himself open to the elements”. -- (c) JoAnne Kenrick, SWEET IRISH KISS
Here’s another…
Rachel slipped her hands up the crisp cotton shirt and explored his ripped torso, smooth and oh so tempting.  She wanted to lick every ripple, every dip…later…no time for that now.  Consumed by thoughts of feeling him deep inside her, hunger led the way.  She unbuckled his belt, yanked at the leather strap, and snaked it away.  In a flash, she unzipped him, too.  His pants fell to the ground and exposed a delicious delight, commando style”. -- (c) JoAnne Kenrick, SWEET IRISH KISS

JoAnne has two other things coming this fall that we can look forward to…  An eRelease of her 80’s rock novella, “Rock You Like A Hurricane”, SIRENIC #1 (we know that LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha is ALL over that one!! J), and “Dracula’s Kiss”, another 1 NIGHTSTAND series novel, due out some time in October also.

Now that we’ve sufficiently done nothing more than tease you, how about we get to the Interview and learn some more about JoAnne and her books?

LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  Hi JoAnne!  Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to come and chat with us today, and to let our followers and members get to know you and your books a little bit better.
JoAnne: Thanks for that awesome introduction. Almost feels like I should curtsey.
LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  We like to start out by getting to know our guest author a bit better, and then we’ll dig into the books... 
Q1): Can you tell us 3 things about yourself that we can't find out easily on the internet?
JoAnne: Move along. There's no secrets here.
Really? Three things? But I'm such an open book; everything there is to know about it is already out there. I'll try, though. Just for you.
1: Fame was my favorite TV show as a 'tween', and it was because of that show that I went on and studied Performing Arts in college.
2: I've also been a window dresser, just like Rachel in my upcoming Sweet Irish kiss contemporary romance. But it wasn't for a fancy store in Knightsbridge. Nope. It was for a discount fashion store in my home town of Rhyl in North Wales.
3: My ten minutes of fame was appearing on a Most Haunted Live show.

Q2):  What are 2 things that never fail to make you smile, and 2 things that always piss you off?
JoAnne: Feel good movies are my happy drugs. The House Bunny, Grease 1 & 2, Cry Baby...anything that revolves around a cheesy love story and has a fun soundtrack, basically. Oh and I adore John Hughes movies. Mostly anything from the 80s. My kids make me smile all the time; they're hilarious, and their achievements make me beam with pride. What pisses me off? Mixing religion with politics. That serious piffs me off. No religion should be the basis for any decision making for the nation. And what really piffs me off is hearing how countries are banning Christmas celebrations in schools and other public places. Instead, they should celebrate all religious holidays to show equality...rather than banning all signs of our diversity. I wish we could all just get along regardless of beliefs.

Q3):   Since you’re a fan of the dark and macabre like so many of us here, what’s your favorite dark and/or macabre thing? 
JoAnne: Investigating haunted buildings...even better if they're infamously haunted. My dream is to spend an entire weekend in 112 Ocean Avenue in Amytiville, because there is so much controversy involved in that supposed haunting. But since it is currently occupied by a family, the chances of that are slim to none. But I ask you, what sort of family would buy THAT home and expect a quiet life? If it's not the dead that will be bothering them, it's the living fascinated with the dead.
Q4):  What is the one thing that you absolutely cannot go through your day without?
JoAnne: A cup of PG tips with a suitable dunking biscuit. If we've ran out of our special Brit biccies (Choccie Digestives from the World Market), Pim's are a pretty good substitute. And a hug from my wee girl. Her hugs are healing, I'm telling ya.
Q5):  If you were to describe yourself in 5 words, what would they be?
JoAnne: Nuts. Nuts. Nuts. Nuts. And nuts. Oh wait. You mean five different words? Hokay. Indecisive. Obsessive. Spiritual. Creative. Supportive. 
Q6):  What are some of your favorite TV shows and movies?
JoAnne: As mentioned above, I love feel good movies. But I'm also a nut for anything vampiric. The Lost Boys is my all time favorite movie. LOVE IT. True Blood is awesomesauce. But Buffy is the best. From time to time, I'll pull out that box set and indulge in the smart snark and sarcasm that is Buffy Summers. And I'm a major fan of Californication. How is it that David D is such a pig in that show, yet I find him absolutely gorgeous in it? The mind boggles.
Q7):  Who are some of your favorite authors and what are a couple of the titles in your TBR list/pile currently?
JoAnne: Oh heck. That's always a hard question to answer because I read too much, and adore so many authors. Smutketeers rock it, I'm loving the 1NightStand series with Decadent Publishing (I'm uber psyched to be apart of such a fab series), and, oh heck, this is where it could get long and exhausting. The list that is. Olivia Cunning. Sara Humphreys. Nicole Hicks. Ciar Cullen. Jill Myles. Mary Hughes. Lara Adrian. Michele Hauf. Juniper Bell. Deena Remiel...I should probably stop there before you all nod off to sleep. LOL On my to-read list? Th Goblin King by Shona Husk. That cover is HAWT...I swear Dean Winchester is the cover model. Yum.
<img src="http://www.shonahusk.com/images/king.jpg" border="0" alt="The Goblin King">
Q8):  What personal dreams have been realized as a direct result of your writing career so far?
JoAnne: I've found what I've been looking for. Yes, after a multitude of 'careers', and 'fads', I made it. I discovered what my passion is. What I am made to do. It took me long enough, but here I am...complete.
Q9): What do you do to cheer yourself up when you’re having ‘one of those days’?  Is there a place you go, something you eat, something you do, etc?
JoAnne: Movies... The House Bunny seems a favorite at the moment. Anna Faris makes me giggle. Giggling is good when life sucks.
Q10):  What do you enjoy doing when you’re not writing or taking care of other author business?
JoAnne: I'm either hanging out with my kids; we love game night!, or I'm studying something weird and whacky paranormal-esk. And my nose is forever stuck in a book...whether it's for work or reading pleasure.
LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  O.K, now let’s find out some more about your career and your incredible books…
Q11):  When did you begin writing, and did anyone or anything special inspire you to become an author?
JoAnne: I began writing, again, with the hopes of sharing my knowledge with folks who might want to listen. My first article was published four years ago and seeing my name in print, in a glossy magazine that heaps of people would read, set the wheels in motion. Just knowing my words could affect others gave me such a buzz. Jenny Smedley, a lovely lady and past life expert, was my inspiration for writing that first article.
Q12):  Do you find that you enjoy writing one genre over the other—paranormal vs. contemporary?   Why do you think that is?
JoAnne: When I first started out with Mullo, I thought I'd only ever write paranormals. Funny how wrong from the truth that turned out to be. I've written contemporary, retro, paranormal, and vampire...and although I really enjoyed writing them all, the vampire was a total indulgent project and I enjoyed that the most.
Q13):  Can you give us some more information about “Sweet Irish Kiss” and “Dracula’s Kiss”?
JoAnne: Loved to! Both are based on cocktails...luscious, sexy cocktails. And both are sizzling hot! Sweet Irish Kiss is also getting a spin-off series called Bell's Irish Pub (my editor would scream at me if I didn't give her more of my Irish Bar antics; I get the impression she LOVED it by the numerous comments about how Devlin, a secondary character, needs his own story. Well, he got it! And it took him all the way to France. Here's hoping my editor loves it just as much as Sweet Irish.
Here are the trailers and covers to both of my upcoming 1NightStand books.
Sweet Irish Kiss
Out September 30th
<img src="http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a69/Amitola_/JK-SIK-200x300.jpg" border="0" alt="Sweet Irish Kiss, 1 NightStand Story by JoAnne Kenrick">
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rl19a3OZZdc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Dracula's Kiss, out this October
<img src="http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a69/Amitola_/DraculasKiss.jpg" border="0" alt="Dracula's Kiss - a 1 NightStand book by JoAnne Kenrick">
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ABDhDtQR9RA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Q14):  How many books are planned for the 1 NIGHTSTAND series and when are they expected out?
JoAnne: The awesome (if I do say so myself) series is multi-authored with Decadent Publishing. It was started by Valerie mann, Kate Richards and Olivia Stark...and has garnered many faithful fans. And I can see why. I'm totally addicted those hot little shorts! It's an absolute honor to be apart of this on-going series that has it all...vampires, virgins, Aussies, werewolves, shifter menages, bondage...it goes on. There is bound to be something for everyone with stories ranging from sweet to smoking hot! More about the series can be found here: http://decadent1nightstand.blogspot.com
Q15):  Please give us some more information about Ryker Connell and “Rock You Like A Hurricane”!
JoAnne: He's all kinds of Bon Jovi hot...I think that line has become rather infamous. Who knew my guy would be so popular with the ladies. I've had emails and Facebook messages from readers saying how much that line has stuck in their head. Now, every time Rock You Like A Hurricane comes on the radio or TV, they think of Ryker Conall (Ryker Con...all as the female lead calls him). That's awesome considering the book only just came out! And as a total rock-chick myself, Ryker had my heart from page one. Usually, it takes the first chapter before I start 'falling' for the male lead. Not with Ryker. Ryker is the man of my dreams!! Although he's got a bad-boy exterior, he's also persistent, has a sexy, raspy singing voice, and plays the guitar like there's no tomorrow. Also, he's a total romantic at heart and knows how to romance a gal. Pre-order price is still good until 28th September, too! Don't miss out if you plan on snagging yourself a blast from the past with my 80s rock romance. http://www.bookstrand.com/rock-you-like-a-hurricane
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/YJLINwh6_Rk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Q16):  Is there a follow-up planned for “When a Mullo Loves a Woman” and the PEARL KIZZY series?  When might we expect it if there is?
JoAnne: I do have something planned for Mullo...but at this point, I'm not sure when it might hit the shelves...or even my editor's inbox. I'll keep ya'll posted.
Q17):  Why did you feel you had to tell the PEARL KIZZY and 1 NIGHTSTAND stories?
JoAnne: Pearl Kizzy started as a short story. A rather tragic short story (Pearl died in it). I had no idea of the whole ebook world when I started, and that a short was publishable as a stand alone. I thought I had to make a full length to get it in the hands of Joe Bloggs. And so it began...my fiction writing career. It started as a 'maybe I can, if I don't try, I'll never know' project. But anyone who knows me knows if I set my mind to something, it will be finished. As for the 1NightStand books, well...the acquisition editor for the series pulled me to one side and asked me when I was going to contribute to the series. I already had a short I was thinking of writing called The Exception. And when Kate asked me about writing for the series, my mind went straight to that unwritten story. In a mater of seconds, I'd adapted it for the line of shorts based around the online match-making agency. I had a thing for Colin Farrell at the time, so Shaun Bell was created. An Irish bar man looking for lurvvve. I wrote Sweet Irish Kiss in four weeks. Two weeks later, I subbed Dracula's Kiss for the paranormal call-out. Yes, I wrote it that quickly...the fang-banger in me was pleased as punch to be able to write a story about a goth bumping into a real vampire dressed up as Dracula at a Halloween Ball. Boy, does she get more than she bargained for.
Q18): What question have you always wanted to be asked in an interview but have never been asked, and how would you answer that question?
JoAnne: How are you going to spend that HUGE advance for the next book in your NYT bestselling series? Maybe one day I'll be asked that, and if so, I'll answer, “I'll be spending it during the research trip the publisher is sending me on. I'm off Australia to research my new series.” haha dreams, you gotta have them!
Q19):  What’s up next for JoAnne Kenrick?  What do you have coming up in the next several weeks/months?
JoAnne: Well, a paid-for research trip to the land down under isn't on the cards...yet. But three new books releases onto the eBook shelves are. Rock You Like A Hurricane is just out. Sweet Irish comes out on the 30th. And Dracula comes out in october. I've got two book tours coming up, and those dates can be found on my website under the 'event's tab. The first book in my new Bell's Irish Pub is awaiting revisions, as is Rock book two. So no doubt you'll be hearing some more release news from me soon.

Q20):  Is there anything special you would like to say to your readers while we have you here today?
JoAnne: Heck yes! Thank you for all the emails and reviews, your support means the world to me, as does your reading pleasure...it's what keeps me writing. You guys ROCK!!!
LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  JoAnne, we’ve thoroughly enjoyed having you with us today, and are excited for the chat later on this evening!  We’re sincerely hoping that we’ve tuned some new readers into your amazing work, and we can’t wait to see what you have in store for us next.  We would be delighted if we could have you back for a future release in early 2012 if you’re interested!?
JoAnne:  You don't even have to ask! I've had an absolute blast answering these questions...let's do it again!
 *******************************************
CONTEST:
JoAnne is graciously offering up  an eBook of “Sweet Irish Kiss” and Kindlegraph to a winner from Book Monster Reviews (Kindlegraph only available for those with a Kindle and Kindlegraph account). 
a signed copy of “When a Mullo Loves a Woman”.
To Enter: Make sure you are a follower of the BMR Blog and then post a comment on the interview and make sure you leave a valid email address. Any comments without an email address will NOT be entered into drawing.
GOOD LUCK!!!!
Don't forget to drop by the LITERAL ADDICTION website (http://www.literaladdiction.com/) and follow the directions and links to enter their contest for a chance to win

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Q&A Interview and Giveaway with Jennifer Estep

Good morning Literal Addicts and Book Monsters!  LITERAL ADDICTION and Book Monster Reviews are proud to have bestselling author Jennifer Estep with us today! 

Jennifer is a USA Today bestselling author and the proud creator of the ELEMENTAL ASSASIN Urban Fantasy series as well as the MYTHOS ACADEMY YA Urban Fantasy series. 

Jennifer is a Southern girl.  She’s sassy, sarcastic, and yeahjust a tad bit crazy. ;-)  She spent her childhood doing normal kid stuff—playing, hanging out with her friends, and making up wild stories in her head. 

She quickly fell in love with reading and books and devoured fairy tales, fantasies, adventure stories, mysteries, romances, westerns and just about anything else she could get her hands on while her mom encouraged her obsession by taking her to the library every week. 
The more she read, the more she thought about writing her own stories.  She wrote a few poems and short stories over the years, mainly for class assignments, and somewhere along the way, she realized that she wanted to write for a living.
She majored in English because of her love of books, but seriously wondered what she could really do with an English degree.  She worked with the college newspaper and discovered she could write stories and make a decent living.   Since she realized that, she has earned a bachelor’s degree in English and journalism, and a master’s degree in professional communications.  Currently, she’s a full-time author. 
Jennifer’s ELEMENTAL ASSASIN series focuses on Gin Blanco, an assassin codenamed “the Spider” who can control the elements of Ice and Stone.  When she’s not busy killing people and righting wrongs, Gin runs a barbecue restaurant called the Pork Pit in the fictional Southern metropolis of Ashland.  The city is also home to giants, dwarves, vampires and elementals – Air, Fire, Ice, and Stone.
Books in the series are “Spiders Bite”, “Web of Lies”, “Venom” and “Tangled Threads”.  “Spider’s Revenge”, the fifth book, will be released on Sept. 27.  “By a Thread”, the sixth book, will be dropped in March 2012, and the seventh book is set to be released in August 2012. 
The Young Adult MYTHOS ACADEMY series focuses on Gwen Frost, a 17-year-old Gypsy girl who has the gift of psychometry, or the ability to know an object’s history just by touching it.  After a serious freak-out with her magic, Gwen is shipped off to Mythos Academy, a school for the descendants of ancient warriors like Spartans, Valkyries, Amazons, and more. 
Books in the series are “Touch of Frost” and “First Frost” (a prequel e-story to the series).  The second book, “Kiss of Frost” will hit shelves on Nov. 29 and the third book, “Dark Frost” is set to be published in June 2012.  “Halloween Frost”, an e-story, can also be found in the ENTANGLED e-anthology that is available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other booksellers.  All proceeds from ENTANGLED go to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.   

In addition to the ELEMENTAL ASSASSIN and MYTHOS ACADEMY series, Jennifer is also the author of the BIGTIME PARANORMAL ROMANCE SERIES.  The BIGTIME books feature sexy superheroes, evil ubervillains, and smart, sassy gals looking for love.  Titles in the series are “Karma Girl”, “Hot Mama” and “Jinx”.  The books were reissued as e-books in 2011. 

Jennifer has worked as a features writer and page designer for a Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper and has more than 10 years of journalism experience.  She’s a member of RWA, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and other writing groups. 
Jennifer’s books have been featured in Cosmopolitan, Entertainment Weekly, Southern Living and a variety of other publications.  You can follow her on Facebook, Goodreads, and Twitter.

Now that we’ve told you a little bit about Jennifer and her books, let’s get to the Interview and learn a little bit more…

LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  Hi Jennifer!  We’re very happy to have you with us today!  Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to let our followers and members get to know you and your books a little bit better.
Jennifer:  [Opening statement…] Hi, everyone! Thanks for having me on the blog today. I appreciate it.

LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  We like to start out by getting to know our guest author a bit more, and then we’ll dig into the books. 
Q1): Can you tell us 3 things about yourself that we can't find out on the internet?
Jennifer: I love football; I love action movies; and I always wish I had more time to read.

Q2):  What are 3 things that never fail to make you smile, and 3 things that never fail to piss you off?
Jennifer: Three things that never fail to make me smile are: getting an e-mail from someone who’s enjoyed one of my books; making someone else laugh; and baby animals doing cute things.
Three things that never fail to piss me off: people who are late for appointments; people who don’t call/e-mail when they say they will; and people who don’t keep their promises.

Q3):   What do you enjoy doing when you’re not writing or taking care of other author business?
Jennifer: I love to read, and I also enjoy spending time with my family and friends, watching movies and TV shows, and just relaxing.

Q4):  Were there any specific influences or inspiration behind the creation of the ELEMENTAL ASSASSIN and MYTHOS ACADEMY series?
Jennifer: For the Elemental Assassin series, I’ve always enjoyed reading stories about assassins in fantasy literature (and beyond) since assassins can be deadly, dangerous, quirky, crazy, and everything in between. It seems like there are so many stories you can tell with assassin characters. One day, I thought it would be cool to write my own assassin character with my own magic and world building.
The same thing goes for the Mythos Academy series. I’ve always enjoyed mythology and all the stories of the gods, goddesses, heroes, monsters, and more, whether they were stories that I read or in the movies or on TV. One day, I thought it would be fun to write my own mythology story and put my own spin on things, so I did.
Q5):  For our readers not yet familiar with the 2 series, can you tell us a little bit about each of them in your own words so that we can better understand why you felt you had to tell their stories? 
Jennifer: Of course. Like I said before, I’ve always liked reading about assassin characters, but with Gin Blanco and the Elemental Assassin series, I wanted to create an assassin who was okay with her profession. Someone who knows that there are worse people in the world than her and is okay with being the bad guy and handling problems that the law can’t. So I came up with my dark, corrupt, fictional city of Ashland and all the various supernatural creatures for Gin to go up against.
With the Mythos Academy books, I wanted to focus on a younger heroine and sort of tell a coming-of-age story where Gwen really comes into her own and discovers how she can use her magic and wits to serve the greater good. The Mythos Academy books also feature myths, magic, monsters, mean girls, and a Spartan warrior who is as cute as he is deadly.
I think they’re both just fun, action-packed series. I like books with a little bit of everything in them – magic, action, danger, and romance – and those are the kind of books that I like to write.
Q6):  How many books do you have planned for each series?
Jennifer: Right now, I’m under contract through book seven in the Elemental Assassin series. I hope to write more books beyond that, as I think I have a lot of Gin stories left to tell.
I hope to write at least seven books in the Mythos Academy series, as I think that will let me finish out the major story arc with Gwen and her friends battling the evil god Loki.

Q7):  Can you tell us a little bit about what we can expect as each series progresses?

Jennifer: Sure. The first five books in the Elemental Assassin series are all about Gin planning her revenge on Mab Monroe, the Fire elemental who murdered Gin’s family when she was a kid. Gin deals with various bad guys, including some of Mab’s minions, in the books building up to Spider’s Revenge, the fifth book. I don’t want to give away too much, but after that, we’ll see Gin dealing with the consequences of her war with Mab.
The first three books in the Mythos Academy series deal with Gwen adjusting to life at the school and realizing that things like Loki, Reapers of Chaos, and mythological monsters are real – and what her role is in being Nike’s Champion and stopping Loki and his Reapers.
Basically, in both series, there’s one major story arc that’s completed in each book, but with some new questions/problems raised at the end that tie in with the major, overall story arcs of the series.





Q8):  What were some of the challenges (research, literary, psychological, logistical, etc) in
bringing both the ELEMENTAL ASSASSIN and MYTHOS ACADEMY series to life?
Jennifer: I would say one of the biggest challenges with the Elemental Assassin series was just having an assassin as my heroine and making her likable enough that folks wanted to read about her. Gin is sort of an anti-hero being an assassin, but I tried to humanize her and give her some good qualities as well, like her intense loyalty to her family and friends, and her love of reading.
With the Mythos Academy series, it was a fun challenge to research some of the various myths and pick what I thought would fit in with the overall story that I wanted to tell and go in my own direction with the gods, myths, and other characters.
Hopefully, folks will enjoy my take on things in both series.

Q9):  What question have you always wanted to be asked in an interview, but have never been asked? How would you answer it?
Jennifer: At this point, I think I’ve been asked just about everything. LOL. But I always like talking about other books/authors since I love reading as much as I do writing. Some of the books in my TBR pile right now are Kissing Comfort by Jo Goodman; Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter; The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa; and Carte Blanche by Jeffrey Deaver, along with about twenty other books.



Q10):  Is there anything special you would like to say to your readers while we have you here today?
Jennifer: Just that I appreciate all the nice e-mails and comments that I’ve gotten about my books. There are so many great books and authors out there, and knowing that folks read and enjoy my work is really awesome and humbling. So thank you guys so much!

LITERAL ADDICTION/Book Monster Reviews:  Thank you so much Jennifer!  It’s been incredible having you with us today.  We hope that we’ve tuned some new readers into your amazing work, and we can’t wait to see what you dish up for us next.  J
Jennifer: Thanks! I appreciate your interest in my work and taking the time to feature my books on the blog. Happy reading, everyone! ;-)

CONTEST:
Jennifer is graciously offering up a copy of “Spider’s Revenge” to a winner from LITERAL ADDICTION and a winner from Book Monster Reviews. 
To Enter: Make sure you are a follower of the BMR Blog and then post a comment on the interview and make sure you leave a valid email address. Any comments without an email address will NOT be entered into drawing.
Don't forget to drop by the LITERAL ADDICTION website (http://www.literaladdiction.com/) and follow the directions and links to enter their contest for an extra chance to win!!!

GOOD LUCK!!!