Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Book Review - PRIMAL LAW by J.D. Tyler

PRIMAL LAW by J.D. Tyler

Book Title:  Primal Law (Book 1 in Alpha Pack series)
Author - J.D. Tyler
Release Date:  August 2, 2011
Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Jo Davis is one of my favorite authors.  I absolutely LOVED her FIREFIGHTERS OF STATION FIVE series and I couldn't wait to get my hands on Primal Law and of course, she did not disappoint.  Her first Paranormal Romance written under her pseudonym, J.D. Tyler, was just as amazing as the rest of her books.  Primal Law, the first book in the new Alpha Pack series had a great plot line, great characters and of course smokin' hot love scenes.

Jaxon Law is man scorned by betrayal and weighed down by the guilt of the death of his team mates and leader.  He does not trust anyone outside his brothers, the Alpha Pack and is determined never to mate and trust a woman again.   
Kira is a scientist working at New Life Technology.  While employed, she starts to notice the suspicious behaviors of her employers and starts snooping around.  She steals small canisters of what seems to be of skin samples that she believes and hopes will reveal the horrible secret she feels her employer is hiding and gets chased out side and then caught. 

Enter Jax and the Alpha Pack team to the rescue.  Jaxon Law (former Navy SEAL) is a Grey Wolf, RetroCog and Time-Bender.  Jax hears Kira's screams and immediately responds.  He sees 2 men attacking her and his wolf goes crazy.  Although he has no idea why his wolf and he are taking the attack so personal, he shifts to wolf and kills both men.  Jax then shifts back to man in front of Kira and they take her back to the Alpha Pack headquarters to figure out who is trying to kill her and why, as well as make sure she won't reveal their secrets.

Jax and Kira have an instant attraction to one another.  Jax is scared to put his faith and trust into another woman after the last woman he thought he loved was responsible for trapping Jax and the Alpha Pack and killing 4 of the team members while the others struggled and fought for their lives.
Kira is thrust into a world she never could have imagined existed.  She discovers she is Jax's mate and does not want to me mated because it's their fate.  She wants to be mated because they love each other.

I really loved how they worked at their relationship and it wasn't instant love.  They learned to trust in each other and then eventually fell in love.

I also fell in love with all of the men from Alpha Pack. 
Nick Westfall - The new Team Leader of Alpha Pack is a White Wolf, Empath and PreCog. Nick carries the burden of knowing the fates of his men, yet because of a tragic past mistake he won’t interfere with destiny or free will.
Aric Savage -  Red Wolf, Firestarter and Telekinetic.  Aric harbors a terrible resentment of his shifting and Psy abilities, and sees them as a curse. 
Kalen Black - is the newest and youngest member of the Alpha Pack.  Black Panther, Sorcerer and Necromancer and the only known shifter of his kind.
“Hammer” - Grey Wolf, Tracer—Only Nick knows the mysterious giant’s real name.
Zander Cole - Black Wolf and Healer—Zander nearly killed himself trying to save his teammates in the aftermath of the Noble massacre. Of all the survivors, he’s the one not dealing with the tragedy and is a cause for grave worry among the others.
Ryon Hunter - Silver Wolf, Channeler and Telepath—Ryon is an original team member whose “sixth sense” gives the catch-phrase “I see dead people” a whole new meaning.
Everyone one of these men steals your heart and leaves you anticipating his book.  Next up is a novella on Kalen Black and then Aric Savage's book will be released in April.

So, all in all…….I LOVED this book and it was an excellent start to a great new series.
I give this book 5 stars

BOOK REVIEW - CAPTIVE by Christina Phillips

CAPTIVE by Christina Phillips

Book Title - Captive
(Book 2 of the FORBIDDEN series)
Author - Christina Phillips
Genre - Erotic Historical Romance
Release Date - February 1, 2011      
        
**********************

Christina Phillips latest novel, "Captive" (book 2 in the FORBIDDEN series) takes place in AD 50 at a time when the Romans were conquering all surrounding lands.  This story takes place in Cymru, an island off the coast of Britain, where the Romans have killed and raped to overtake lands rich in minerals of gold, copper and lead.  Lead by the Druids, the people of Cymru rebel and then flee to the Isle of Mon to recoup their strength and develop a plan to attack the Romans again.
One of the Druids is a priestess named Morwyn who is disillusioned by the Druids and wants to join the rebels to fight for her country.  Another reason is the loss of her lover who was killed by the Romans.  She decides to travel to Camulodunon, where her closest friend, Carys, now lives to try to persude her to join the rebels.  She travels with traders along their route but are attacked by Roman soldiers who kill everyone but Morwyn.  She is to be used for their pleasure and then killed.
Brennus is a loyal Briton soldier who is fighting undercover in the Roman army to gather valuable information that might possibly save Cymru from destruction.  He accidentally comes upon the scene of the trader’s murders and saves Morwyn from the brutality of the Roman soldiers.  He does not believe in rape and torture and displeases his Roman army brothers by taking her under his protection.
Morwyn hates Bren even though he has saved her; she believes he will keep her for himself and rape her when they are alone.  She fights him every step of the way, both physically and verbally.  Through it all, Bren tries to keep a calm reserve understanding her behavior quite well.  He also starts to lust after Morwyn admiring her strength and passion.  But he will not force himself on her.
Not knowing what to do with Morwyn, Bren decides to take her to Camulodunon.  Along the long ride on horseback, Morwyn starts to develop a lust for Bren as well.  His strength, reserve and kindness, as well as his bright green eyes, sets well with Morwyn but she hates him for who he is and will not give in to her desires.  She fights every attempt of kindness that Bren offers and makes  life miserable for both of them.  After a horrible nightmare about her lover’s death, Bren comforts her and they both give in to their longing for each other.  Bren is happy about this, as he is becoming more and more enthralled with Morwyn, but she hates him even more now.  Her guilt is overwhelming.
Once they reach Camulodunon, Morwyn sneaks out one night while Bren is gone, to find her friend, Carys.  Once again, she is filled with hatred and repulsion as she finds out Carys has married a Roman soldier and is carrying his child.  She will be of no help to Morwyn now and desolate and angry, she returns to the inn.   She has no where else to go.  Not knowing exactly why Morwyn is so unhappy, Bren brings her gifts.  One night at dinner in a fine restaurant, they both start to open up to each other.  But they both have many secrets and must protect who they really are.   Especially Morwyn, who finds out that Bren has a deep hatred for Druids.
 Bren decides to bring Morwyn home to Cymru as he has been asked by the Romans to spy on the Druids.  Bren uses this to his advantage as he needs to see his British King to get further orders.  He gets lodging for Morwyn and while he is away, Morwyn goes to find the Druid Elder in hopes of finding the British King to offer her assistance in their fight for freedom.  She reveals to him her true identity and he tells her how to find the King’s secret hideout in the forest.  Morwyn sets out immediately to find him.  She does not want to leave Bren, as she now considers him hers, but she has no choice.
Bren returns to Morwyn’s lodgings to find her gone.  He is desolate, believing his dreams of a life with Morwyn are over.  All he has left is to fight with his King for Cymru’s freedom.  So he sets out to find the King’s hideout in the forest……..
Captive is a very fast paced story of love and betrayal, of passions and desires and how secrets can destroy everything is its path.  Bren and Morwyn are so real that the reader can feel their passion and their pain.  We want them both to reveal their secrets in the hopes of ending this pain but it is not always the case.  Ms. Phillips has a lot of twists and turns in her story which adds even more to the desire to keep reading until we reach the last page.
I gave this book 4 stars

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Book Review - BOUND BY NIGHT by Amanda Ashley

Book Title:  Bound by Night
Author:  Amanda Ashley
Release Date:  August 30, 2011
Genre:  Paranormal Romance

A Vampire's Kiss Is Forever. . .
Once featured in a horror movie, the crumbling Wolfram estate is said to be haunted by ghosts, witches, and worse. But Elena doesn't believe a word of it—until she spends the night and wakes up in the arms of a compelling stranger. . .
Tall, dark, and disturbingly handsome, Drake is the most beautiful man Elena has ever seen. For centuries, he has lived alone, and Elena is the first woman to enter his lair—and survive. And Drake is the first man to touch her heart and soul. By the time she discovers who he really is—and what he craves—it's too late. Blood lust has turned to love, and Elena is deeply under Drake's spell. But forever comes at a price for each of them. . .

"Bound by Night" is the first book in Amanda Ashley's new BOUND series.
It starts off with Drake going back to Wolfram Castle to hide out from his family.  Drake is the first born son of Rodin, Master Vampire of the Carpathian Fortress.  Drake does not like the rules and ways of his people.  Being the first born son to the Master Vampire, Drake is intended to take a seat on the Council and to marry a vampire woman of his father's choosing so he can breed and carry on the family line.  Drake has been defying his father's wishes for over 300 years and runs off to Wolfram Castle whenever he wants to get away from his family.

Emily Knightsbridge is currently living with her uncle, Tavian Dinescu.  Her parents both died and left her in the custody of her aunt and uncle and has resided with them and her cousin Jenica since.  After her aunt passed away, Jenica used to tell her horrible stories of how her father (Elena's uncle) raped and abused her.  One day Jenica disappeared and the uncle told Elena that Jenica ran off with one of the boys from town.  Now, uncle Tavian has decided that he wants to marry Elena and constantly tries to make advances on her.  Elena, scared and horrfied runs away to Wolfram Vastle because she thinks it is abandoned and no one will think to look for her there.  In walks Drake and the story unfolds……

I really liked this story.  Elena is an innocent and very kind hearted.  She decides to put her trust in Drake because he is the only one who can stop her uncle from claiming and marrying her.  Even after learning that Drake is a vampire and Elena sees firsthand why Drake does not want a part of the Carpathian Coven, she still sticks by him.
Drake is bound by obligations to his father and his people that he wants no part of.  He is constantly trying to look for ways out of it.  He does not want to think of Elena and be with her but that's all he can think of anymore until he can't picture being without her.  Drake finds himself stuck right in the middle of the Carpathian Coven and has no way out of it.

There are so many things that happened in this story.  I can't get into it without spoiling it so you're going to have to read it to find out.  Everyone that has read Amanda's work before knows that there are no steamy and smutty sex scenes.  They are more romantically told and not as visual but still just as great.

I am definitely looking forward to the second book in the BOUND series, "Bound by Blood" which will be released on September 27, 2011.

I give this book 4 stars.




Q&A Interview and Giveaway with Amanda Ashley

Hello Book Monsters and Literal Addicts! Book Monster Reviews and LITERAL ADDICTION are very pleased to welcome New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Amanda Ashley to our sites today.

Amanda is one of those rare birds--a California native. She's lived in Southern California her whole life and, except for the earthquakes, loves it. She shares a home with her husband, as well as a fluffy Pomeranian named Lady, a sparrow named Tweety she raised from a baby, and a tortoise who remains nameless. Amanda and her alter ego, Madeline Baker, have written 61 books and 14 short stories. Not bad for someone who started writing just for the fun of it. Her books have made the New York Times List, the USA Today List, and the Waldenbooks Bestseller and Mass Market lists.

Amanda currently has 3 series out which include her VAMPIRE TRILOGY ("Shades of Grey", "After Sundown" and Desire After Dark"), her NIGHT series ("Night's Kiss", "Night's Touch", "Night's Master" and "Night's Pleasure"), and EVERLASTING ("Everlasting Kiss" and "Everlasting Desire").

 Amanda also has a new BOUND series coming out. "Bound by Night" the first book in the series was released today and "Bound By Blood" is scheduled to be released on October 4, 2011.

Let's take a sneak peek at "Bound by Night" and "Bound by Blood" to see what it's all about…….



"Bound by Night" synopsis -
A VAMPIRE’S KISS IS FOREVER…Once featured in a horror movie, the crumbling Wolfram estate is said to be haunted by ghosts, witches, and worse. But Elena doesn’t believe a word of it—until she spends the night and wakes up in the arms of a compelling stranger…
Tall, dark, and disturbingly handsome, Drake is the most beautiful man Elena has ever seen. For centuries, he has lived alone, and Elena is the first woman to enter his lair—and survive. And Drake is the first man to touch her heart and soul. By the time she discovers who he really is—and what he craves—it’s too late. Blood lust has turned to love, and Elena is deeply under Drake’s spell. But forever comes at a price for each of them…

"Bound by Blood" synopsis - A VAMPIRES LOVE IS ETERNAL
Zack Ravenscroft loves women-all women-and they love him. The irresistibly seductive owner of the hottest casino in Vegas, Zack has tasted every wicked pleasure Sin City can offer. But never in his six hundred years as a vampire has he seen a morsel as delectable as Kaitlyn Sherrad, the mysterious young newcomer in town. Zack knows nothing about her-except that he craves her.
Kaitlyn is half vampire, half human-and all woman. As the cherished daughter of the Carpathian Coven's master, she has been given every luxury a girl could desire. Now her only need is for a prince. But though she's ready to gamble her heart on Zack, a powerful enemy stalks their every move...watches their every kiss...and waits to destroy their undying love...

Having read Amanda's previous books, we know these will be great.  Let's get started with the interview so we can learn more about Amanda and her new BOUND series.

Book Monster Reviews/LITERAL ADDICTION:  Hi Amanda!  HAPPY RELEASE DAY!!!!  Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to drop by and celebrate the release of "Bound by Night" with us!  We’re so happy to have you with us today!

Amanda:  Thanks for asking me!

Book Monster Reviews/LITERAL ADDICTION:  We always like to start out by getting to know you a little bit better.

Q1):   Can you tell us 3 things about yourself that we can't find out on the internet, in your bio, etc?

Amanda: Hmmm. I’m afraid of the dark. I just bought a new Dodge Charger. And I love my dental hygienist.

2)  What are some other hobbies and interests you like to do when you're not writing?

Amanda: First and foremost, I love to read, always have. I love going to the movies. I just saw Cowboys and Aliens and thought it was really cool. I love spending time with my family. I love walking my dog in the morning.

3)  You first started out writing for the fun of it.  When did you first realize you wanted to get serious about it and try to get published?

Amanda: LOL. If it hadn’t been for a friend of mine, I never would have looked for a publisher. I’d written a couple of books when I mentioned to my friend, Beverly, that I’d written a book. She asked if she could read it.  At first I said no, but then I let her. She said it was really good, very visual, and I should try to find a publisher. She gave me a copy of Writers Market and I began sending out query letters. I never really thought anyone would buy my book but finally, after six years and rejections from every publisher in NY, Leisure bought Reckless Heart.

4)  What made you decide to write paranormal romance novels?

Amanda: My agent asked me if I’d like to try my hand at writing a short vampire story for an anthology. I’d been reading a lot of vampire books and I said sure. I wrote Masquerade, and I was hooked. I’ve been writing vampires ever since.


5)  Do you have any interesting writing quirks or things you must have with you to begin the writing process?

Amanda: Not really. I can write anytime, anywhere. I’ve been known to write in the car, at the bowling alley, on scraps of paper in restaurants.

6)  Who are some of your favorite authors and series?

Amanda: I love Maggie Shayne’s Twilight series, Lori Handeland’s Nightcreatures series, and Patricia Briggs series – the name escapes me at the moment. I also love Jim Butcher’s Dresden books. Oh, and Charlaine Harris’ Sookie books..

7)  What is your favorite inspirational quote?

Amanda: This, too, shall pass

8)  If you could spend the day with any one of your characters, who would it be and what would you do?

Amanda: Wow, no one’s ever asked me that before! Picking a favorite character is like picking a favorite child. Since all my hero’s are married now, I guess I’d spend the evening with Mara and we’d go shopping, get a massage, catch the latest movie, and try to decide which of the Cordova men is the sexiest – Vincent, Raphael, or Rane.
9)  What question have you always wanted to be asked in an interview, but never have been?  Could you answer that for us?

Amanda: Gosh, I can’t think of one! I’ll have to get back to you.




Book Monster Reviews/LITERAL ADDICTION:  Now we'd like to ask you some questions about the BOUND series.

10)  Can you please give us some more detailed information about what the BOUND series is about?

Amanda:  Not without giving away part of the plot J I will say that my vampires are a little different from what I usually write, both heroes are yummy, and both were Top Picks for Romantic Times.


11)  Where do you get your information or ideas for the BOUND series?

Amanda: I have no idea where my ideas come from. They’re just there. As for information, can you say Google?

12)  How many books do you have planned for the series?

Amanda: At the moment, just two.

13)  What can we expect as the series progresses?

Amanda: More danger, more romance.

14)  What's next for Amanda Ashley?  What do you have planned in the upcoming months?

Amanda: My next book, His Dark Embrace, is scheduled for June of next year. I’m hoping to get my 5th Night book published next year. A lot of my readers have been asking for Mara’s story. I wrote it sometime back and thought it would be out long before now, but I ran into a snag and put it on hold for awhile. At the moment, I’m working on something new. My readers can get a sneak peek on my web page..

15)  Is there anything specific you would like to say to your readers?

Amanda: I want them to know how much I enjoy hearing from them. I read all my mail and answer every letter. I hope they’ll enjoy reading Bound by Night and Bound by Blood as much as I enjoyed writing them..


Thank you again Amanda for dropping by.  We wish you the best of luck with your BOUND series and we hope to have you on Book Monster and LITERAL ADDICTION again soon.
Amanda: Thank you! I’d love to come back. 

If you would like to find out more about Amanda and her books, you can visit her at any of the sites below.

Amanda's  Website:  http://www.madelinebaker.net/



************************************************************
CONTEST:  Amanda is giving away a SIGNED copy of "Bound by Night" along with a cover flat of "Bound by Blood" to a lucky Book Monster Follower.

To Enter: Make sure you are a follower of the BMR Blog and then post a comment on the interview and make sure you leave a valid email address. Any comments without an email address will NOT be entered into drawing. You must also be a follower of the BMR blog. GOOD LUCK!!!!
Don't forget to drop by the LITERAL ADDICTION website (http://www.literaladdiction.com/) and follow the directions and links to enter their contest for an extra chance to win!!!

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Donna Grant Interview with Galen Shaw of Shadow Highlander

Hello Book Monsters and Literal Addicts, today Book Monster Reviews and LITERAL ADDICTION have a special treat for you.  We are very excited to welcome the super sweet and fantabulous Donna Grant and the star of her newest book "Shadow Highlander", Galen Shaw to our sites today. 

Donna Grant is the award winning author of more than twenty novels spanning multiple genres of romance – Scottish Medieval, historical, dark fantasy, time travel, erotic, and paranormal.

Donna was born and raised in Texas but loves to travel. Her adventures have taken her throughout the United States as well as to Jamaica and Mexico. Growing up on the Texas/Louisiana border, Donna's Cajun side of the family taught her the "spicy" side of life while her Texas roots gave her two-steppin' and bareback riding.

Her childhood dream was to become a professional ballet dancer and study under the amazing Mikhail Baryshnikov. Though she never got to meet Baryshnikov, she did make it to New York City and performed in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. Later, Donna’s love of the romance genre and the constant stories running through her head prompted her to sit down and write her first book. Once that book was completed, there was no turning back.

Donna sold her first book in November 2005 while displaced from Hurricane Rita, a storm that destroyed portions of the Texas Gulf Coast. Since then, Donna has sold novels and novellas to both electronic and print publishers. Her books include several complete series such as The Druids Glen, The Shields, The Royal Chronicles, the Sisters of Magic, and the Dark Sword series.

Despite the deadlines and her voracious reading, Donna still manages to keep up with her two young children, three cats, and one long haired Chihuahua. She's blessed with a proud, supportive husband who's learned to cook far more than frozen chicken nuggets.

Donna's newest series DARK SWORD has gotten many rave reviews.  The series has been called “Sensual, dark and enchanting" and it's been said to have "Wonderful characters with depth, charm and sensuality and a dark, brilliantly told tale brimming with emotion and sexual attraction all captivate."  This is also one of our all time favorite series, so for those of you have not read the DARK SWORD series yet, Let's take a look and see what the awesomeness is all about….

Dark Sword: The Beginning

There once was a land of legend, of lore. A land filled with magic and hope. Though the Celtic tribes warred with each other, all of that came to an end with the arrival of Rome to their shores.
The mighty kingdom of Rome, intent on ruling the world, slowly worked their way across Britain. Until they reached the highlands and encountered a foe like none other. Despite their victories, nothing the Celts did could make Rome leave their precious land.
With no other recourse, the Celts turned to their trusted advisors and allies, the Druids.
Respected and revered, the Druids were like any society. Their magic came in the purest form from the earth, but there were ones who wanted more – more power, more control...more of everything.
Inevitably, the Druids split into two sects. The mie stayed true to their magic and continued to heal the sick and offer their knowledge to tribal leaders. The drough, however, chose human sacrifices and black magic to grow their power.
It was the drough who had the answers for the Celts.
The mie cautioned the clan leaders against using black magic, but the Celts knew their hold against the Romans was waning. So they allowed their greatest warriors to step forward and the drough to cast their spells and call up the gods long buried in Hell - gods that once ruled the earth with brutal tactics and violent ends.
But they were the only ones who could defeat Rome.
The gods, freed at last, eagerly answered the Druids call and bound themselves into each tribe’s fiercest warrior. Those warriors, with the aide of the gods inside them, attacked every Roman they encountered. Battle after battle ensued, until, finally, Rome abandoned Britain.
Yet the gods were still thirsty for blood, still hungry for battle. With the Romans gone, the warriors turned on each other...and anyone that got in their way. The rivers and land ran red with the blood of the Celts as death permeated the air.
The drough finding their magic useless joined forces with the mie. Yet, nothing the two sects did could put the gods back in their prison in Hell. The gods refused to relinquish their hold on the warriors, growing stronger with each heartbeat, each kill, until the warrior was no longer the man he had once been.
A gathering of Druids was called. It was unlike anything that had occurred since before the split. Magic pulsed over the land as they put aside their differences and struggled to find a way to help the Celts. But no amount of magic they called up freed the warriors.
Unable to send the gods back, the Druids combined magic and black magic to create a spell that bound the gods, in effect freezing them inside their hosts. The warriors returned to the men they once were and resumed their lives having no memory of the atrocities they had committed.
Yet, inside each warrior, the gods waited. With every generation the gods moved from warrior to warrior, passed down and forever a part of the family’s bloodline.
And so the Warriors were born.
The Druids, knowing what they had created, knowing what would happen in the future, stayed near the Warriors. Forever keeping watch. Even when their faith, the very thing they were, caused them to hide for fear of being killed, they had no choice but to watch. All of mankind was at risk.
The true story of Rome’s departing of Britain was forgotten. It passed into legend and myth amongst the Celts with each retelling of the story. Only the Druids knew the truth.
Then one drough found a hidden scroll. More power hungry than any drough before her, Deirdre set out to unbind the gods and control them. Thereby giving her the army she needed to rule the world and become a goddess before whom all men would tremble.
The scroll, however, only listed one tribe – the MacLeods.
Deirdre turned her eye to the MacLeod clan. There, she would begin....

The fifth and newest book in the series "Shadow Highlander" is scheduled to be released tomorrow, August 30 and the sixth book, "Darkest Highlander" is scheduled to be released on January 31, 2012.  Before we check out Donna and Galen's interview, let's take a look at what the newest releases will be about:

"Shadow Highlander" synopsis - HE CAN FEEL HER MAGIC
Sent on a dangerous mission into the shadowy world of the Druids, Galen must find a powerful ancient relic to defeat the enemies of MacLeod Castle. But what he discovers is far more powerful—and far more dangerous. A Druid lass whose beauty is as spellbinding as any magic...
CAN HE FREE HER SOUL?
Reaghan is the most enchanting woman Galen has even met—and the most enigmatic. She alone is immune to his mind-reading gifts. He alone makes her feel safe and secure. But Reaghan holds a secret power deep inside her that could destroy them both. And if Galen hopes to hold this captivating woman in his arms every night, he must defeat the darkness that draws closer around her every day...




"Darkest Highlander" synopsis -                   HE IS HER SALVATION
For years, Broc has watched over her, protected her—and hidden his love for her. But when his beautiful Sonya finds herself in a hopeless situation, the Highlander flies to her side to save her. Unfortunately, before the Druidess can thank him, Broc is captured by his enemy and destined for eternal pain…
SHE IS HIS DESTINY
Sonya vows to help her noble warrior, though he is imprisoned in a mountain of pure evil—bound in chains of the darkest magic. With Sonya’s own magic fading, she must summon the greatest power of all to save the man she loves. But even if these two hearts are united, will they be strong enough to defeat the heart of darkness? Or will their undying love doom them for all eternity…?

Are you all hooked yet?  Make sure you guys add this series to your "TBR ASAP" list.  Now, let's see what we can learn about Galen during Donna's interview…..

Donna Grant's Interview with Galen Shaw, hero from SHADOW HIGHLANDER, Dark Sword book 5
DG: Hi, Galen.  Thanks so much for agreeing to the interview.
Galen: :nods head in greeting:  My pleasure.
DG:  I know you’re immortal because of the primeval god inside you, but can you tell us how long you’ve been immortal?
Galen: I’m two hundred and fifty years old.
DG:  :whistles:  That’s a long time.
Galen: Aye.  A verra long time. 
DG: What can you tell us of the god inside you that makes you immortal?
Galen:  Ycewold, the trickster god.  He’s the god who has been passed down through my bloodline from the moment he was pulled out of Hell into a Highlander to defeat Rome.
DG: How did you come to have the god?
Galen:  The god traveled through my bloodline always going to the strongest warrior.  I was that warrior when the god was unbound.
DG:  And Deirdre, the evil Druid, was the one who unbound your god.

Galen:  Aye.  I’ll no’ rest until she’s wiped from this earth once and for all.
DG:  I don’t blame you at all.  So, tell me more about your god.  What does he give you other than immortality?
Galen:  My senses – hearing, sight, smell – are enhanced.  I have four times the strength and speed of a mortal, but besides that, each god has a power that is passed on to the Warriors.  Mine is the ability to read someone’s mind.
DG: :shifts uncomfortably:  So you can read my mind right now?
Galen:  :one side of his lips tilts in a smile:  No’ exactly.  It only happens when I touch someone. 
 DG:  Ah…I see.  That could make life difficult.
Galen:  More than you can imagine.  :his smile vanishes, his gaze turns distant:
DG:  Is that the extent of your power?
Galen:  :a lengthy silence follows:  For the most part.
DG:  There’s something else that happens to you with your god inside.  You…transform…for lack of a better word.
Galen:  Every Warrior does.  When we call up the god inside us, we do transform.  Some would call us beasts.  I wouldna say they were wrong, but we’re the beasts who keep them from Deirdre.
DG:  Can you explain what you turn into?
Galen:  Just as each god has a chosen power, each favors a color.  Ycewold chose green, the dark green of a forest, which makes it easy to hide there, I might add.  My skin will turn green, and dark green claws will sprout from my hands.  Warriors also have fangs.
DG:  But that’s not all?
Galen:  Nay.  :he gives a small shake of his head:  Our eyes turn the color of our skin, but it is the entire eye.  From corner to corner.
DG:  So your amazing blue eyes would be green?
Galen:  Shall I show you? :his smile is part devilish, part trickster:
DG:  Please!
Galen:  :transforms instantly:  We are a frightening sight, are we no’?
DG:  :reaches out and touches a long claw:  Wow.  I can see why people would think you not all together human.  And your eyes.  I cannot even see your irises.
Galen:  Imagine me like this in the middle of battle, the sounds of roars and growls filling the air from other Warriors.  It’s no’ a place for a human.
DG:  No.  It’s not.  :clears throat once Galen tamps down his god:  What do you see in your future?
Galen:  I’ll keep fighting against Deirdre, keep looking for a way to kill her. 
DG:  Is that all?  What about a woman?  You’re a very handsome man, Galen, with your blond hair and intense blue eyes.
Galen:  :glances away:  Thank you for the compliment, lass, but I’m no’ expecting more than myself for company through my lifetime.  My…power…willna allow otherwise.  I care no’ to see into a lover’s mind and see her sadness or fear.
DG:  What about her happiness?
Galen:  I doona want to see either.  Those are her private thoughts.  I’ve no’ right to them.
DG:  Many of the other Warriors have learned to control their powers.  Have you?
Galen:  Unlike the others who can only use their power when their god is unbound, mine I’m able to use all the time.  So, with the slightest touch I see into a person’s mind.  It’s a power I wouldna wish on anyone.
DG:  I see.  But you Warriors have been fighting for us a long time.  You all deserve happiness.
Galen:  :rises to his feet:  My happiness will come when Deirdre is dead.
DG:  Then let’s hope that happens soon.  Thank you for your time, Galen.  And good luck.
Galen: Godspeed, lass.
DG: :watches Galen walk away:  I think you’ve got a surprise awaiting you, Galen.  Whether you want it or not.
If you would like to learn more about Donna and the Dark Sword books you can visit her at the following sites:

*****************************************************

CONTEST:  Donna is giving away a copy of "Dangerous Highlander", a set of Warrior Trading Cards and a bookmark to a lucky Book Monster Follower.

TO ENTER:  Make sure you are a follower of the BMR Blog and then post a comment on the interview and make sure you leave a valid email address. Any comments without an email address will NOT be entered into drawing. You must also be a follower of the BMR blog. GOOD LUCK!!!!

Don't forget to drop by the LITERAL ADDICTION website (http://www.literaladdiction.com/) and follow the directions and links to enter their contest for an extra chance to win!!!  They are giving away a copy of "Wicked Highlander", Trading Cards and a bookmark.